Rachel’s First Movie Going Experience

by cecimadden

20120712-154711.jpg

As a grown-up, I’ve kind of looked down on going to the movies. It’s so expensive, and I think it’s so weird that they show commercials (not just previews) before movies now, and you know, it’s not exactly an interactive activity. But, let’s be honest. I love going to the movies- despite my boring adult-like views. I grew up in a small town so there was never a lot going on and driving a few towns over to see a movie was in some ways a great escape.

And going to the movies holds so many fond memories for me. It might be a passive activity but it really is an opportunity to bond. When my mom and dad celebrated their anniversary each year, they chose to do so as a family, by seeing a movie and going to dinner together. If I try really hard, I can tell you each movie we saw from Gladiator (2001) to Benjamin Button (2008).

During Christmas and summer vacations, those rare occasions when all of us cousins were out of school and together, my dad would always, always take the big group of us out to a movie. We always had to pick something that was suitable for the whole age-range of kids and I will never forget seeing The Cat in the Hat, gosh, maybe in 2003, and how I was so not into the movie, but so very into sitting with my cute kindergartener cousin who had just discovered that her entire fist could fit into her nacho cheese cup.

So. Last Saturday it was 110 degrees, and we all know that the best way to beat that kind of heat is to veg out in a super cold movie theater. I decided to take Rachel to see Brave. (Aren’t the people at Pixar pure geniuses?) We got there early enough to beat the rush of families that would inevitably show themselves later, and this way Rachel got to totally savor the experience. Without the pressure of lines that needed to move along, or crowds that needed to be navigated, she got to tell the woman at the ticket window what movie she wanted to see, she got to give our tickets to the usher (“We got our tickets!” she said as she handed them over), and she even got to place her order at the concession stand. (When the concessioner asked if she wanted a small, medium or large popcorn, Rachel put her finger to her chin and said, “Large!”)

Our girl was so patient as she waited for the movie to start. She ate from her (small) popcorn bag and just waited. Total shocker. She was just so excited for what she knew she was about to witness.

The movie itself was so sweet, essentially about a mother-daughter pair who don’t see eye-to-eye, but due to a series of mystical, magical events are forced to renew their connection. It was a really charming legend of a tale.

By the time it was over the popcorn was gone and Rachel was perched on my lap. More than once she looked up at me and said, “Mom…I like this!” I grinned and nodded then put my finger to my lips. I certainly felt a special bond between us. What an experience to share.

