Change is Good

by cecimadden

20120504-064219.jpg

As much as I believe in change, I hate making transitions. I’ve said it before, but it’s a true story. Confession: When I know I’m getting near the end of a notebook, I’ll subconsciously stop writing in it, just to delay that moment when I’ve filled the last page and have to figure out what to do next. And it’s just a notebook, people. I know. I know.

But even if I have a new notebook waiting, a plan (!) I still delay the inevitable, because it can’t be as easy as closing one notebook and opening another…can it!?

Jim just got a new job. A permanent job. Which is awesome, because it’s permanent 🙂 And all of my stress over our changing childcare plan and all the other logistical details (come to think of it, there aren’t that many), have probably made it seem as though I’m not extremely proud of him. I am. I just had to buck up and sort some things out, and you know, crack open another notebook.

Rachel will start daycare soon and this time, I’m not so stressed out about it. Actually, I’m excited for her to make some friends that aren’t just my friends’ kids. And finding a daycare spot wasn’t nearly as hard as I thought it would be. In fact, it was just as easy as asking for a favor (which I might hate doing just a little bit more than making transitions. I’m never one to leave things to chance.) But you know what? When you’re sort of in a pinch and you really need a favor, then hey- the first thing you should do is ASK FOR IT. It may just work out for you. (This was my positive self-talk before asking for the favor…it worked!)

Happy Friday. I hope you have exciting things planned this weekend!

