My Girl, and My Friends

by cecimadden

I love, love, love that my girl loves my friends.  Are you lucky enough to feel the same way?  When I told Rachel we were going to meet up with my dearest, best friend, she was truly excited.  “Emily!  Emily and Rachel!  Emily and Mommy and Rachel!” she shouted, arms raised in the air, her whole body practically leaping with excitement.

She even wore a ponytail to impress our friend, which could be considered a miracle except that it’s so natural to want to do something unpleasant for the sake of a friend’s sweet smile.

I think about my relationships with the women in my life.  I am so, so grateful for them all.  I try to stretch myself to be a better friend, a better sister, a better daughter, and nothing has made me desire this more strongly than becoming a mother (a continual process of becoming, to be sure).  Mothering is completely humbling, isn’t it?  And it requires a compassion and celebration that I’d say only other women (mothers or not) can provide.  When I was younger, I never really thought of myself as someone who would be a mother.  Not that I didn’t think I would have kids – I just didn’t conceptualize it that way: that I would be a mother, and need other women to lean on.  Perhaps if I did, I may have been a better friend and sister (maybe even a better daughter), sooner than, well…now.    

Now, it makes me so happy to see my daughter become friends with my friends, to see my friends become mothers, to play with their kids, and to see all our kids befriending each other.  It all sort of unfolds so naturally.

To my girl, and my friends, and my sisters and my mom: you totally enrich my life.  Thank you.

