Rachel in February

by cecimadden

Life is getting so, so fun, isn’t it?  You are talking, talking, talking.  Every day you say something new.  “No problem.”  “I got it.”  “Okay, okay, okay.”  You surprised me last week with a knock knock joke!  A real knock knock joke, I couldn’t believe it.

Last night it was sixty degrees outside and the sun was still shining so we went for a walk together – except that you wanted to run!  I held your little hand and you ran like the wind for about half a mile.  Half a mile!  You would look up at me and smile and say, “breeze!”  It was the cutest, most impressive thing ever.  Especially since you were wearing your shiny red shoes J

Your independence is growing in big ways.  You sleep in your very own bed now.  After so many nights of falling asleep and waking up together, you are now big enough to do those things yourself.  I shudder to think what’s next.  You, like me, like going to sleep with some music on.  Currently you are enjoying Counting Crows and Ben Kweller.  (Remind me to get you some music from the current decade.  Until then, mom and dad’s hits from the 90’s will have to do.)

Lest you develop a complex, I will remind you that you are not perfect.  You got very mad the other day when we wouldn’t give you a second ice pop.  You hardly ever let me brush your hair.  Sometimes you think you can bend the rules, and you’re just beginning to learn good manners.  Truth be told, you still require a bit of nighttime parenting, too…

We don’t expect you to be perfect though.  Perfection is overrated.  We always just want you to do your best, to work hard, and be nice.  To ask for help when you need it, and to help others.   I think I’m still getting the hang of all this too, and I hope to be a good example for you.

You are the most important thing in the world to us, Rachie.

I leave you with your favorite part of your favorite tune of the moment*:

I love you
A bushel and a peck
A bushel and a peck and hug around the neck,
A hug around the neck, and a barrel and a heap
A barrel and a heap and a kiss upon the cheek…

 

*Thank you, I Don’t Know How She Does It, for putting this song in our heads.

