Little Words, Resolutions

by cecimadden

I finally had a chance to sit down and focus on my intentions for 2012.  I love goal setting and list-making, and this year I used a short workbook developed by Susannah to help me hone in on my resolutions for the year ahead.  If you have not had a chance to do this yet, I highly recommend it.  Whether you use her workbook or not, the process of sitting down with a warm cup of something, a notebook and a pen, and writing down some dreams is so…refreshing.

One element of Susannah’s workbook that I love is the concept of choosing a word for the year.  A mantra, or focal point, if you will.  (Ali writes about choosing your one little word so beautifully, if you are new to the concept and want to know more about it.)  My word for 2012 is release.

Release.

Doesn’t it feel good just saying it?

I want this to be the year I allow myself to/teach myself to/finally/ let go of old insecurities, resentments, fears, and disappointments.  A tall order, no? I think I can do it.  If I live this word every day, I think I will feel lighter and generally be more pleasant.  Right now, I carry too much with me- bad memories, doubts about past decisions, tiny annoyances…I suppose we all do.  And I guess it might be juicy to tell you specifically what some of these things are, but I’m trying to focus on other things.  In the spirit of releasing negativity.  Which I think will help me to move forward in some way.  If it helps me to release them, maybe I’ll share them someday.

Four days into the year, I love the feeling of having a mantra and a set of resolutions that is broad, but about real growth.  Last year I resolved to never leave dirty dishes in the sink when I went to bed.  That was boring and served no greater purpose, plus it didn’t play to my strengths, so I lost interest pretty quickly.  This year I think I’ll do better.  How about you?  Did you make a new year’s resolution?

