Change is in the Air

by cecimadden

Change is in the air.  Earlier this week when Rachel and I visited the garden we were surprised and delighted to witness a flock of hundreds of birds flying overhead, migrating, I imagine, to a better place for the coming season.  It was absolutely breathtaking and we stood and stared, awe-inspired, together.

Change is in the air.  I have been thinking so much of the events of this week, struggling with how to summarize my thoughts.  Groups of people are “occupying” cities all across the US, an act that is equally courageous, stimulating and necessary, with no direct focus but to call attention to the obvious – something is wrong in this country and the problem is multi-faceted, not to be solved by a simple or singular linear equation.  Thank you for getting a dialogue going, I say.

Change is in the air.  Steve Jobs past away.  A bold visionary who fundamentally altered the ways that we communicate with one another and entertain ourselves is now gone.  It is hard to even comprehend the ways in which this man has made an impact on technology and our culture.  Have you listened to his commencement speech at Stanford in 2005?  If that doesn’t inspire you, I don’t know what will.

Change is in the air.  My little girl will soon be two.  I had so many imaginary thoughts of what life would be like with a two year old, and nothing is quite what I expected.  This is how life goes, I guess.  It is a constant challenge, mothering, but in the very best way.  It makes me more creative, more patient, more adaptable, more giving.  It simply calls to question everything I think about who I am.  It is a good thing, mothering, but it is a challenge.  And I am happy to be evolving as a person because of it.  What a blessing.

Change is in the air.  I’m not sure how all of the above intersect.  I’m sure they do in a multitude of ways.  What’s certain is that it is palpable, and I say bring it.

