A Night at the Museum

by cecimadden

A few days ago I took Rachel on her first visit to a non-children’s museum.  The Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology hosts evening events in their beautiful courtyard in the summertime, complete with live music and cold drinks.  I wasn’t sure how much Rachel would enjoy it, but I was pleasantly surprised.  She had the best time.

The courtyard is a truly beautiful space.  Rachel loved the fountains and walking on the unique pavers, but she loved the grassy patch in the middle the most.  She had so much fun running around, climbing a young tree, and interacting with the bushes.  When the live music started, she ran all over finding objects to drum with and entertaining everyone.

She was so sad to go, and so was I.  Doesn’t this picture look a little bit like a Field of Dreams moment?  Like she’s disappearing through the bushes into a magical world of her own.  What a sweet, fun girl.

I’m looking forward to this weekend and possibly disappearing into a magical world of my own.  How about you?

