Storybook Page Postcards

by cecimadden

This is where I should tell you I’m a bit of a closet crafter.  When I was a kid I somehow got the notion in my sporty, arrogant brain that I didn’t want to be the crafting type, so I never got into decoupage or (s)crap-booking or anything like that.  But I have always been attracted to paper, and I did, on occasion, save old shoe boxes and interesting wrapping paper and newspaper and magazine pages and make myself custom storage boxes and spiral bound notebook covers.  More recently I even made my own wedding invitations.

I think I’ve mentioned that I’ve saved about a mountain of torn storybook pages from Rachel’s collection of books with the hope of using them for something crafty later on.  Well I finally found something to do with them.  Over on Design*Sponge they had a tutorial for a travel map correspondence set and I instantly knew what I would be doing with that collection of saved pages:

Storybook Page Postcards

Materials:

  • Torn storybook pages that are at least 5.5″ x 6.25″
  • Blank postcards – size 4.5″ x 5.25″
  • Scissors
  • Ruler
  • Pencil or pen for marking measurements
  • Craft glue stick
  • A paperweight, or blackberry, if you’re outside and it’s windy, which I was.

Instructions:

  1. Select your storybook pages. Choose ones with fun, colorful illustrations or poignant text.  Don’t think the illustrations have to be squared perfectly with the cards.  Have fun with it.
  2. Cut your storybook pages to the specified dimensions (here, 5.5″ x 6.25″ but you can use any size postcards and just cut the storybook pages 1″ longer and 1″ wider).
  3. Apply glue stick to your blank postcard and adhere it to the back of your storybook page.  Obviously, the “back” is the side you don’t care for your recipient to see.
  4. Prepare to miter your corners: fold your storybook pages over the edges of your adhered postcard, but do not glue them down yet.  Unfold them. Cut out the squares that are made from the intersection of your folds at each of your four corners.  (See the Design*Sponge tutorial page for a better depiction of this).
  5. Miter your corners: Apply glue to each of your short sides, then fold and adhere them to the postcard.  On the long sides, fold the corners down to form a triangle.  Now apply glue and adhere it to the postcard.

Voila!  You now have super playful, hand crafted postcards:

This was a really simple, stress-free project.  Definitely a good use of my lunch hour on the lawn in not-as-brutal summertime weather.  I am almost convinced that I need to buy red envelopes and line them with coordinating storybook pages.  Hmmm.  Or, maybe I should mix and match storybook pages, or line the envelopes with text-only pages.  What do you think?  Would you ever make something like this?  Are you a closet crafter too?

