Happiness is the Way

by cecimadden

In my imagination, George had a bit of a faceplant week this week.  His child was sick again (you didn’t know he had kids?) and he administered loads of medicine through screams of torture, was late to work everyday (yes, George has a job too), and generally wasn’t focused slash felt like a failure at life.  I, on the other hand, I had a great week.  I got into lots of adventures and hung out with my best friend, the man with the yellow hat.

Then, as I was killing time after feeding my parking meter mid-week, I stepped into a book shop and came across this quote:

“For a long time it seemed to me that life was about to begin – Real Life.
But there was always some obstacle in the way, something to be gotten through fiirst,
some unfinished business, time still to be served, a debt to be paid.

At last it dawned on me that these obstacles were my life.
This perspective has helped me to see there is no way to happiness.
Happiness is the way.

So treasure every moment you have and remember that time waits for no one.
Happiness is a journey, not a destination!”

Souza

I immediately read it to George and his whole perspective changed, and he was grateful for the good that occurred during his week.  Here are some bits and pieces:

  1. We went for a leisurely walk on the river path on Tuesday.  All three of us- and it was lovely.  Rachel particularly loved these ramps that take you from street level down to the river.
  2. I dropped by the Philadelphia Milk for Thought Bus Tour stop on Penn’s campus.  It was a great event with a few hundred women and tons of chubby-cheeked babies.  Thanks for reading my posts earlier this week on breastfeeding.
  3. Rachel and I stopped by the garden to visit out cute little tomato plant.  I cannot wait until these are ready to be picked.
  4. We also turned our coffee table into an art station.  I have to admit I got this idea from Rachel.  When she started drawing on the not-covered-in-craft-paper coffee table.  I swear she’s smarter than me.  She comes up with all the good ideas before I do.
  5. I finally got Rachel into this new pair of shoes that Grandma bought her in Texas.  We had a fun time giggling while taking pictures of them too.
  6. I went for one glorious run this week, while Rachel napped in the stroller.  A large portion of the road is lined with these beautiful wild berry-looking plants that are part green and part fushia and part deep purple.  It was the prettiest thing.  Do you know what these are?

Happiness is the way indeed.  Hope you treasured every moment of your week too.

