In my Spare Time

by cecimadden

Jim had his last day of summer classes yesterday!  This means I get a little extra time each day in the form of an extra set of hands at dinner time.  Yay!  It also means we will have a more consistent day-to-day schedule during the week, with a little bit of an earlier bed time for Rachel.  Double-yay!  Today I celebrated by reading a stack of books to Rachel while Jim cooked, and now that she’s tucked in I will crack open The Catcher in the Rye.  I haven’t read it in years, but for a while during high school and college I read it every single summer.  I may have been the only person who checked that book out, in its ratty, yellowish hard cover, from my small town’s library.  Did you/do you have any traditional summer reads?

Another thing I’ll be doing in my spare time is taking care of my teeth.  Yuck.  Not to gross you out or anything but today my new dental hygienist told me I really need to get that gum tissue strong! between a tooth with a temporary crown and its neighboring teeth.  I don’t know what she was so excited about, but it motivated me.  Until she gave me the tool which will make all this strengthening happen:

It’s an itty bitty pipe cleaner-thing that I have to stick in between my teeth and move back and forth in a sawing motion.  The hygienist told me not to impale myself, but to expect that it will hurt and it will bleed.  Gross.  Gross.  Gross.  I will let you know how it goes.  On second thought, maybe I won’t.  Maybe I’ll use these little wands to apply mascara on my teeniest of tiny corner eyelashes instead…hmmmm.

