#2: Grow Some Vegetables

by cecimadden

Check!

That, my friends, is a zucchini from my very own vegetable garden!  I could not be more excited.  We ate this, our first fresh zucchini, raw and undressed on a car ride to the beach.  I cannot think of a more rewarding snack.  Also, it means I get to cross something off of my “30 Before 30” list.  (Remember this post?)

The garden, in general, is doing amazing.  The tomato plants have sprouted, the green beans have too, and I have a small patch of arugula that has been giving our salads an extra kick for over a week now.  Yum!  I am already compiling zucchini and green bean recipes to try.  Do you have any favorites?  And I am starting to think about what I might plant in the late summer or early fall.  Any suggestions?

This is what the rest of the garden looks like, after just one short month:

I hope the plants continue to thrive in the summer heat and that they continue to be pest-free.  I read somewhere that citrus keeps the bugs away so I sprayed an orange peel tea on the leaves at the first sight of bugs.  Please continue to share tips and tricks, if you have them.  (And thanks to those of you who have!)

Happy gardening, everyone!

